Sam Johnson: No Bonuses for Tax Delinquent IRS Employees

f t # e
Washington, May 1, 2014 | comments

Congressman Sam Johnson (R-TX) introduced H.R. 4531 No Bonuses for Tax Delinquent IRS Employees Act of 2014 that would prohibit the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) from handing out bonuses to employees who owe back taxes.

“Last week we learned that the IRS paid out more than $1 million of taxpayer-funded bonuses and other rewards to more than 1,100 employees who owe back taxes.  That’s outrageous!  This bonus scandal comes at a time when the IRS is under fire for targeting Americans based on their beliefs and amid reports that reveal IRS workers broke the law by engaging in political activity on the job.  Simply put the IRS is out-of-control,” said Johnson.

“IRS employees are failing to comply with the very laws they were hired to enforce.  Worse, it further proves that Washington doesn’t respect nor care how Americans’ hard earned tax dollars are spent.  It’s time for the IRS to respect hardworking American taxpayers.

“That’s why I’m introducing a commonsense bill to prohibit the IRS from providing bonuses to tax delinquent IRS workers.  I urge my colleagues to join this effort; it’s the right thing to do!”


H.R. 4531, No Bonuses to Tax Delinquent IRS Employees Act of 2014, is in response to a report released by the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration revealing that the IRS paid out bonuses and other rewards to employees who owe back taxes.  According to the Inspector General, more than 1,100 employees received cash awards totaling more than $1 million and more than 10,000 hours in extra time off. 

The IRS Restructuring and Reform Act of 1998 requires the IRS to fire workers who are tax cheats (e.g. failure to file a tax return).  However, according to the Inspector General, the IRS does not, as a practical matter, take into account whether an employee has a tax problem when it comes to providing bonuses and other awards for employees.

Original Sponsors: Rep. Kevin Brady (TX), Pat Tiberi (OH), Dave Reichert (WA), Charles Boustany Jr. (LA), Peter Roskam (IL), Jim Gerlach (PA), Aaron Schock (IL), Lynn Jenkins (KS), Erik Paulsen (MN), Kenny Marchant (TX), Diane Black (TN), Mike Kelly (PA), Tim Griffin (AR), and Jim Renacci (OH). 


f t # e