To honor North Texas' many brave veterans for their service and sacrifice, in 2011 I established the annual Congressional Veteran Commendation (CVC) program for the Third District of Texas. This nominations-based program is designed to publicly recognize the wartime sacrifices as well as the peacetime community involvement of our veterans.  Anyone may nominate a Third District veteran for this award, and they may nominate as many veterans as they wish.  An independent selection board then determines which nominees will become CVC recipients to be publicly honored during a special ceremony.  This ceremony includes a keynote speaker address as well as the recognition of each CVC Awardee for their unique service to our Great Nation. 

I thank everyone who participated in this program over the years in order preserve our local veterans' stories for future generations of Americans.  It is my hope that our veterans' sacrifices will inspire others to live a life of service on behalf of others.  God bless you, and God bless America. I salute you. 



Since the inception of the Congressional Veteran Commendation program in 2011, 86 veterans have been honored. This group of dedicated veterans represents every branch of our Armed Services, but more importantly these veterans represent several generations of faithful service to the protection of our Great Nation.  I’m thankful for the opportunity to pass down our honorees’ examples of patriotism, bravery, and love of country to future generations through this program!


Keynote Speakers:

              2011: U.S. Congressman Sam Johnson

              2012: Brian Birdwell, Texas State Senator

              2013: Taylor Baldwin Kiland, author of Lessons from the Hanoi Hilton

              2014: Alvin Townley, author of Defiant

              2015: Major Heather Penney

              2016: Major General James Williams

              2017: Ryan “Birdman” Parrott

Comprehensive List of all CVC Recipients